Huronia Stallions Holding Registration and Release 2013 Award Winners

The Huronia Stallions Football Club will be holding registration this Saturday, March 1st for youth age 8-19 at the East Bayfield Community Centre in Barrie.  The Stallions offer rep teams in Barrie for players age 12-19 and a developmental House League in both Barrie and Orillia for ages 7-13.  The Stallion family celebrated an impressive milestone and some remarkable individual accomplishments. 

2013 saw the Stallions graduate their 100th player to the Canadian University Football ranks.  Former Quarterback Kyle Graves started at Wide Receiver for the Montreal Alouettes in their playoff game against Hamilton.  All three rep teams made the playoffs with the highlight being the Varsity team’s valiant Championship Game effort in a last second heartbreaking loss to Hamilton.

The 2013 Stallion Award Winners are as follows:

The Varsity Team’s MVP was Dan Vandervoort who has the distinction of being the longest serving Stallions player.  The Barrie native had an outstanding season, career and put forth the best individual game performance in Stallions history with his 183 yard effort in this season’s Championship game.  Vandervoort went on to win the Peter Gorman Trophy for the most outstanding freshmen Canadian University Football Player.  The Stallions Offensive Player of the Year Award went to quarterback Adam Zussino.  The Barrie native had an outstanding Stallions season and carried that into the fall with a GBSSA title and OFFSA bowl win as the leader of the St. Joan of Arc Knights. 

The Ryan Clarke Memorial Scholarship Award was split this year between Vandervoort and Wasaga Beach native Brett Ferrari.  Clarke was an outstanding player for the Stallions whose dream was to play university football.  The Clarke family and the Stallions created a scholarship to honour Ryan’s memory and support graduating players in the pursuit of Ryan’s dream.  The following are the rest of the Varsity, Junior Varsity and Bantam Award winners.

Best Defensive Player: Johnny Obdam (Barrie)
Best Defensive Linemen: Mac Holliday (Barrie)
Best Offensive Linemen: Chris Maybee (Barrie)
Pride Award: Jesse Alves (Barrie) and John Shields (Orillia)
Outstanding Rookie: Austin Currie (Collingwodd)
Best Special Teams Player: Andrew Drysdale (Barrie)
Most Improved Player: Nikko Morito Barber (Angus)

Junior Varsity
Most Valuable Player: Matt Howe (Barrie)
Best Defensive Player: Tyler Richards (Barrie)
Best Offensive Linemen: Nick Martino (Barrie)
Best Defensive  Linemen: Jacob Johnston (Barrie)
Pride Award: Jack Schneider (Innisfil)
Outstanding Rookie: Nick Stadnyk (Wasaga Beach)
Best Special Teams Player: Jacob Tanguay (Innisfil)
Most Improved Player: Eugene Wolf (Barrie)

Most Valuable Player: Rhys Rusby (Washago)
Best Defensive Player: Curtis Gainey (Innisfil
Top Linemen: Josh Comstive (Barrie)
Pride Award: Elijah Kent (Barrie)
Best Special Teams Player: Luc Pilon (Barrie)
Outstanding Rookie: Kail Dava (Barrie)
Most Improved Player: Stephen Kuchar (New Lowell)

House League Award Winners (Barrie and Orillia)
The following are the recipients of the Dan White Memorial Pride Award.  Each winner is chosen as the player who best exemplifies Dan’s skill, commitment, passion and love for the game.  

Mustang Division:
Purple Team: Jacob Leyte
Vegas Gold  Team: Isiah Kent
Yellow Team: Connor McCulloch
Blue Team: Devin Baxter

Pony Division:
Purple Team: Austin Robinson
Vegas Gold Team: Eric Schon
Yellow Team: Jason Wadge and Dean Battaglia
Blue Team: Cole Quinton

Colt Division:
Yellow Team: Justin Bertolin
Blue Team: Luke Benner