Huronia Stallions 25th Season Preview and 2016 Award Winners Announced

2017 marks the 25th season for the Huronia Stallions football program.  The Stallions have become a Simcoe County community institution and now have several players in the system who are the children of alumni.  Last season the Stallions Varsity team finished with a 4-4 record and just missed the playoffs for the first time since joining the Ontario Football Conference (OFC) in 2011. 

The Varsity squad was playing inspired football at the end of the season and would have been a dangerous opponent in the playoffs if they had qualified.  The Stallions Junior Varsity team finished with a 7-1 record in 2016 and represented the Northern Conference in the OFC Championship game.

The graduates of the Junior Varsity team are pushing the Varsity incumbents making training camp spirited and competitive as per usual. Examples include Justin Janicki, Joshua Carr, Destin Pearson, Chad Beatty, and Owen Macleod.  At the quarterback position, JV graduate Justin Winn is working hard to push veteran Brandon Hryncek.  At the Varsity level, defensive back Jack Malo has impressed so far while offensive linemen Dylan Hart and defensive Back Christian Hutter-Coppin are providing veteran leadership.  Hutter Coppin returns from an impressive debut last fall with Wilfrid Laurier University’s Varsity team. 

At the Junior Varsity level, linebackers Gavin Wallin and Clayton Mrazak alongside defensive back Julian DiSabatino are having strong training camps and are filling leadership roles.  The JV offence is a young group which is being led by linemen Brady Smith and looks to feature rookie running back Matthew Koufis who has demonstrated quick feet and good decision making.  Former Bantam player Eric Schon has also impressed so far at the JV level.  The Stallions begin their 25th season with a Friday night lights game at the Barrie Sports Complex in Midhurst at 8 pm on May 26th against the Vaughn Rebels.  The Junior Varsity and Bantam squads also kick off their season at the Barrie Sports Complex on Sunday May 28th against Vaughn with 4:30 pm (JV) and 1:30 pm (Bantam) start times.

2016 Award Winners are:
MVP – Devon McGuirk, 
Best Defensive Player – Dotun Atekepe, Top Lineman – Zachariah Willems,
Top Rookie – Charlie Doering,
Pride Award – Connor Paquette,
Most Improved Player – Brendon Hyrncek,  Tyler Maher,
Best Special Teams Player – Devon McGuirk,
Clarke Memorial Scholarship – Dotun Aketepe.

Junior Varsity
MVP - Justin Janicki,
Best Defensive Player - Owen Macleod,
Top Lineman – Joshua Carr,
Top Rookie – Destin Pearson,
Pride Award – Chad Beatty, Julian Di Sabatino, and Michael Cassano,
Best Special Teams Player – Michael Tomczyk,
Most Improved Player – Wes Binnie.